Family Pics 2016

I came across this quote on Pinterest a few weeks ago. I immediately saved it and I find myself rereading it often. It really touched me.

‘We are all special in some certain way..We must be…because how else could we handle a life that was going to be altered in such unimaginable ways and still stay strong and focused.’

Wow that is deep.  I don’t buy into the nonsense that I am a stronger person. That I am more patient and loving or that I was meant to be a caregiver to a child with special needs. Nope. I don’t believe that for a second. I wasn’t picked by God. I am not special.

If anything there are more times like it feels like I am being punished.

But in saying that….

Cooper is my child. I only had once choice. I had to step up and do all the uncomfortable things that would improve his quality of life. Quitting was never an option.

Let me rephrase that. Quitting for longer than a day was never an option.  I have given up hundreds of times. I have drank myself to sleep. Cried myself to sleep. Yelled, begged, pleaded and prayed.

But the morning always comes. An the disability is still there.

Hugs to all the parents out there handling a life that was altered in such an imaginable way.

2f35bd87d39ef6f0396d8fef7fae39eb

And a little cuteness on this frigid Minnesota day….Pictures by the amazing and talented Kacie K Photography.

I captioned our Christmas card with:

‘In raising my babies I have lost my mind but found my soul.’ Talk about an accurate statement from this mama.

If anyone remembers Kacie took our families photos a little over a year ago to celebrate Cooper and all of his amazing qualities. Read about it here. It’s a pretty amazing story.

_dsc9871-16_dsc9857-15_dsc9850-14_dsc9798-5_dsc9780-2

3 thoughts on “Family Pics 2016

Leave a Reply

