First Class Bullying

Stop bullyingI know bullying happens. I am not naïve to that. I remember being picked on in school for my clothes, my glasses, me weight, etc. But I also had friends that were a great support system. What I didn’t know is that some parent’s condone bullying.

I was sitting with a few co-workers the other day and we were sharing stories about our kids. Laughing about the drama around little girls and the laid back personalities of little boys. The conversation kept evolving and I was having the best time. I love hearing about other people’s kids and what I have to look forward to.

And then one of the ladies said the following: “My son makes fun of the autistic boy in his class and it’s hilarious.”

First, I swear you could hear a pin drop. All of us stopped our giggling and side conversations and turned to her. Second, I must not have heard her correctly. And she continued. “My son has the whole act down. He covers his ears and repeats words and even does a hand twitch.”

My stomach dropped. I started repeating to myself, “Do not cry. Do not cry. Do not cry.”

Thankfully, the other ladies didn’t think it was funny either. We all stared at her with stunned looks on our faces. She started back peddling and said “oh, he doesn’t do it in front of him. Just at home for us.” I guess that was supposed to make it better.

And then she actually mimicked the hand motion that this little boy does. So, not only does her son make fun of the autistic boy, she does too.

I know I have an extra stake in the whole autism thing so it probably hurt me more than others. I get that. But why the hell would a mom condone this? A fellow mom with a son. A son who I am sure isn’t perfect. Why would she let him make fun of this boy?

The thought of people making fun of Cooper hurts me. It’s an actual physical pain in my stomach. How could someone pick on my baby? I just don’t understand.

13 thoughts on “First Class Bullying

  1. I find this disgusting. I would be furious. You should have asked her if she talks about you behind your back because it’s obviously okay to make fun of and degrade others as long as they aren’t around to defend themselves.

  2. I’m sorry to hear another story on bullying! I’m sorry you have to go through this. It’s sad that our culture has become numb to compassion for others. I was bullied most of my grade school life and understand the pain but what was hard for me was parents who didn’t understand how bad it hurt. I would try to explain but they didn’t think it was as bad as I was making it to be when all the while it was very painful. I just wanted someone to help me through the valleys. Most of the time I traveled them alone.

  3. Reading that statement, stopped me in my tracks. What on earth would make anyone, especially a mother think that teasing a child is okay? There is nothing funny about that whatsoever. I usually hold my tongue quite well, but I don’t think I would have been able to had I been there. That’s just down right ignorance and what makes it worse, is that she’s teaching her child that that behavior is acceptable. Wow, this got my blood boiling. I must go breathe now.

  4. So sorry you had to ensure this “class- less” woman. My cousin has autism and Down syndrome. I would have been furious, too. Sad truth is this: individuals like this don’t change with society pointing out how ignorant they are.

  5. I still remember the first time Mercedes got teased because she’s different. Her ear was discharging and some kids at school told her she smelled. She was 5. I cried for days, made worse by the fact that she ended up back in hospital for 10 days, and then I raged at the teacher for not protecting her. But it was such an awful, powerless feeling to realize that I can’t protect her from all the mean people in the world. I can only hope that her journey thru life leads her to many more good people than nasty ones.
    Good on you for not slapping your co-worker. I probably would have.

  6. Every so often I re-read this post. It’s like I can’t believe an adult did that and I have to make sure I read it correctly. Breaks my heart everytime.

Leave a Reply

